Skip navigation

If I ever get to be a witness in a murder trial, when I get asked to swear to say the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, I’ll have to say no. I’ll try to be respectful and all, but I just don’t think there is a truth to be told, that if there were it would be possible to say it, and if it was it would be possible to say all of it without infinite time.

Popper says that truth is an unreachable point, that we get closer and closer to it, without ever touching it, in a kind of spiral. I see his point: truth, whether it exists or not, was a useful idea, the very idea of it was a goal pursued by science and knowledge, throughout history. But this idea of the truth as nexus, always closer but never really there just seems to me to be another form of the naive positivism all over again.

What I say is: if there is a truth, I pretty much doubt it could be fitted in the human cognitive apparatus. It would be like trying to run a 386 program on plain old PC-XT. Obviously, this raises lots of questions about conscience, but those would be too long to present here, as, pretty much, this post is only to present my new blog.

The title, as some might have noticed, is a kind of a quote. It’s an old record, but nevertheless a classic: Aqualung, by Jethro Tull. The booklet has a very cool passage, that goes like: “In the beginning Man created God and in the image of Man created he him. And on the seven millionth day Man rested and did lean heavily on his God and saw that it was good. But as all these things came to pass, the Spirit that did cause man to create his God lived on [even within the lesser men]. And man saw it not. But for Christ’s sake he’d better start looking!” I heard this one almost until it ripped my tape. It was a tape back then.

Aqualung booklet fake bible passage

Leave a Reply

